One of the most prestigious international tournaments in Greco-Roman wrestling will be held in Krasnodar

From January 18 to 21 in the Palace of Sports "Olympus" over 200 strongest athletes of the world will take part in the Grand Prix competition of the memory of Ivan Poddubny.

"This is the largest international tournament at the territory of Russia. It is held in different cities of the country. Krasnodar has the honor of hosting the event after a twenty year break. For all the fans of this sport of the region it is a great sports festival" was noted in the city department of physical training and sports.

Fights of Greco-Roman wrestlers will take place on three carpets simultaneously.

It is expected that all the leaders of the Russian national team will participate in the tournament in the capital of Kuban, including Olympic champions Roman Vlasov and David Chakvetadze, as well as trainees of Krasnodar coaches – Alexander Golovin, Alan Ostaev, Stepan Maryanyan.

The entrance to the competition is free.

The organizers note that the tournament in Krasnodar opens a calendar year. It is a qualifier and on its results national team to participate in the European Championship will be formed. The European tournament this year in spring by the decision of the Bureau of the United World of Wrestling (UWW) will be held in the Russian Kaspiysk.

Five times winner of the Grand Prix of the memory of Ivan Poddubny, three times Olympic champion Alexander Karelin will come to the competition in Krasnodar as the guest of honor. The tournament will also be visited by the President of the Russian Wrestling Federation, Olympic champion, honored coach of Russia Mikhail Mamiashvili. The main referee of the tournament is a judge of the international category Sergey Kovalenko.

The Grand Prix of the memory of Ivan Poddubny is held in different cities of Russia since 1962. In 1966 the postage stamp of the USSR devoted to these competitions was issued. In Krasnodar it will be the 56th tournament, before in the capital of Kuban it was held in 1998.